The only effective way for governments to encourage energy conservation is to increase the price of gasoline and electricity.

Some people think the only effective way for governments to encourage energy conservation is to increase the price of gasoline and electricity. However, in my opinion, putting financial burden on people is not an effective way to conserve energy. The reasons are that it may cause citizen’s opposition and there are other good ways of preserving energy.

To begin with, citizens will be against the action to increase the cost of gasoline and electricity. These utilities are what people need to use everyday and cannot live without. However, the governments’ choice to increase the price of those can result in people’s anxiety and stress, especially to those of low income. Not only does it cause people to become worried, but also has a huge impact on people who work in the related field. If the cost of gasoline and electricity rises, the consumption of those would decline, which is what the governments want. However, if the situation persists, some employees could lose their jobs and the employment rate would drop. For example, my sister worked at a travel agency a few years ago. When the government limited tourism, many of her coworkers got laid off. She was very miserable, but there was nothing she could do. In turn, she became very angry and resentful toward the government.

On top of that, there are plenty of other renewable energy sources that the governments can consider. There are clean energy sources such as solar power, energy from ocean waves, or wind energy. If the governments invest in this kind of new methods of getting energy, they would be able to conserve a significant amount of gasoline and electricity. According to a study from Department of Environmental Science at Harvard University, people using solar power at their homes during daytime can save up to twenty percent of the total energy consumption. Accordingly, using renewable energy sources can be the best way to save energy in the long term.

To sum up, increasing the cost of gasoline and electricity results in dissatisfaction from many people, and there are other sources of energy options that can be taken into account. In this regard, I believe increasing gasoline and electricity rates is not an appropriate way to save energy.