In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better:

attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes.

Meeting regularly at your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus freshmen are afforded with multiple choices, which baffles them in varieties of dimensions. Therefore, in order to adapt to the hectic life, a bunch of freshmen opt to participate in a one-week orientation or introduction program, while others tend to meet regularly with a senior student. Personally speaking, I prefer to meet with a senior student regularly instead of taking part in an introduction and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, since the meeting with a senior student is merely geared toward me, the senior student is capable of affording me with sufficient and copious suggestions according to my major and some other conditions. Conversely, the introduction or orientation is held toward a group of freshmen from divergent majors or departments, hence amassing information in the lecture is not effective enough compared to the meeting. For instance, once I was a freshman in Tianjin University, I was curious about every event held in my school, including the orientation geared toward the whole students. However, the orientation really dampened my enthusiasm about such kind of activities, since what was displayed had nothing to do with my major, let alone enabling me to adjust or succeed in the university life. This example illuminates that due to the individuals the introduction gear toward, it is not capable of offering useful information conducive to get accustomed to the university life effectively, while the meeting with a senior student affords us with the capability to gather specific information and adjust our schedule to fit into the university lives shortly after entering the university.

What’s more, having regular meeting with a senior is also a terrific approach to help me tackle newly-emerging problems. Shortly after entering the university, an increasing number of problems are likely to emerge, especially in the situation without the help from my parents or guardians. With a senior student who is proficient in resolving these kinds of problems, it is not only conducive to address the issue but also beneficial to boost my productivity. Meanwhile, due to the difference existing between lifestyles, the psychological problems confronted with me can merely be addressed by the direct and straightforward talking. Listening to my talking, a senior student is likely to share his or her own experience as a consolation which helps me to alleviate my depression.

Admittedly, attending the orientation held by the school also has its own perks. For instance, gathering information related to other majors can expand my outlook, instead of leading a parochial outlook. Nevertheless, having a headstart in university is of pivotal significance in achieve success, thus amass information targeted at my own major from a senior student with the same major enables me to lay a solid foundation to the future success.

In a nutshell, meeting with a senior student with plentiful experience is the optimal approach to get accustomed to the life in the university, since it is much more efficient to gather information related with my major from him or her and deal with the problems existing in my life.