Parents give their children (primary school students) weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children while others think the opposite. Which opinion do you agree with and why?

Pocket money has always been regarded by parents as a way to teach children the lesson about money management. As a result, many kids receive a bit of money every week to spend freely and they will be the beneficiaries.

First of all, the freedom in shopping decides the righteous concept of buying. Although some people may rebut that the younger children get in touch with money, the more worship towards money they would form, this is greatly demonize the weekly money. Even at a very young age, children still need to be entitled to free choices particularly in shopping. Once being satisfied at that moment, they will not have extravagant hopes. We have witnessed so many cases in consistent with the fact. Many shopaholics originate from the upsetting incidents in childhood when their demands were refused or limited by parents’ excuse of money monster. They believe that even a little bit of money would spoil the kids dragging them to the hell of greed, which is ridiculous. Instead, children in this case often become out of control when holding money on their own.

Also, weekly money ensures the rational money management. With finite money, if the kids are about to buy desired commodities, they will have to make a plan. It is always the case that cheaper products have no difficulty to realize, but for the other exceeding the budget, they must learn how to deposit the coins into the required number. During the process, their habit of saving can be fostered and some may even develop the thoughts to increase the weekly money. For example, my younger brother, only 10 years old, has been given 1 dollar every week since he was only 5. Aiming to buy his favorite model plane about 500 dollars, he has already saved the money up to 250 dollars. In order to meet the price as soon as possible, he makes a deal with my uncle that the prize he gets in school competition could be transferred to a bonus around 10 dollars. Finally, not only does he earn enough money for the model, but also progresses in academic learning as well as the ability in managing money. For young kids who are in formative period, such capability is extremely essential and the accompanying effect may last for long. When he grows up, he shows great talent in earning money and planning finance seems a piece of cake for him, compared with his contemporaries who are still green hand in that field.

At this point, it is reasonable for some to query the meaning of weekly money to kids. However, I believe the impact is definitely positive as mentioned.