Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past

Nowadays,it is universally acknowledged that with the development of the modern society, education gradually plays an important role in a children’s development. Some people say that parents participate more in their children’s education than those in the past. In my opinion, I argue that parents are actually less engaged in their children’s education in our society. My points and examples are given below.

First of all, parents have already been busy with their work and thus they rarely get the time to concern about their children’s education. As the competition has become more and more fierce in the modern career, whether people are allowed to stay at their workstation or not really depends on their personal intelligence. Hence everyone always leads the busy lifestyle and their life is really covered with intensive loads of work. They are unable to earn enough time to inspect their children’s study. For example, one of my classmates, John, his parents are businessmen and they are always busy and have to travel around the country for their clients. So John always stays alone at home in most of the time, he said to me that he was always responsible for his own study and grades, due to the absence of his parents, he always needs to ask his teachers for help when trapping into some problems. Hence the above example can fully prove that parents are busy and do not possess the sufficient amount of time to care for their children’s study.

Furthermore, children always prefer to obtain the assistance from their cram schools rather than those of their parents. As nowadays, the quality of the education has been improved a lot than before, everything children learn in their school has gradually become much more difficult and diversified than their parents’ knowledge. Thus more and more students prefer to receive more professional and effective education resources, thus the after-school program has become the one and only choice for them because these programs not only have the plenty amount of excellent teaching resources but can also keep pace with their schooling study. Hence all these attractive crams has already replaced parents to educate their children off-campus. For example, as we can see that nowadays lots of students has always run from their school to their after-school programs, rarely own the desire to go home directly. And we can always see that most of the top or excellent students among schools always take their own off-campus courses in the society and we can hardly discover the top students relying on their parenting at home! Hence, it can fully confirm that the role played by parents has become less significant and it is gradually replaced by these cram courses!

Admittedly, I am not saying that nowadays parents are paying less attention to their kids’ study. With the development of modern society and the improvement of the comprehensive knowledge owned by the parents, they have already raised their awareness of educating their children and the benefits behind it, but we can rarely find the real situation that parents are concerning more with their children’s education or they really behave in some appropriate and meaningful ways to accompany with their children in life! Due to the limitation of the spaces, I am unable to give more ideas, but I believe the cases above have already proven the validity of my point of view.