People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

College or university is the next level of education after high school. Which is not compulsory to attend but people do because of various reasons. There are three main reasons that come first in my mind which support the answer to the question: Why do you think people attend college or university?

First, for various career options an individual has to acquire a specific degree from college or university to work in that field. For example, after completing high school people could not get a job as software engineer in any IT company. To become a software engineer it is mandatory that he or she should have a professional degree from college or university. Similarly, for a doctor, nurse, psychologist, accountant and many more career options a specific degree or certificate is compulsory.

Second, some of the colleges or universities provide small skill based training or vocational courses which help people to improve their way of working, so they attend colleges or universities. For example, personality development, communication skills, self care, resilience building training, learning English, German, Latin or other foreign languages, courses are available in some universities and people pursue their preferred course or training. Because these courses help to work more efficiently.

Third, some students join college or university just after completing their schooling to gain new life experiences such as freedom from daily school routine, live independently, explore new places with friends, and explore self. For example, one of my friends went to another country to attend college because he wanted to experience his own life without family and he explored different new places and cultures during his graduation.

Conclusively, these are a few reasons for why people attend college or university. There are many different reasons such as to achieve the highest degree such as doctorate or to accomplish a research work, to collect resources for self improvement and many more.