Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

To begin with, I am convinced that every single individual, children included, has the right to spend their free time the way they want, be it drawing, playing sports, musical instrument or even having fun with PC games. Therefore, I must say, that completely depriving youngsters of the enjoyment related to their favorite computer games is simply too strict and undeserved. In addition, using this dogmatic style reasoning, one can declare countless numbers of activities to be 'waste of time', just because he does not find them interesting or useful. Why should be watching baseball on TV thought of as a less of a waste of time than playing games on a computer? Just let people have their time off, during which they can do what pleases them the most.

Secondly, PC gaming can be both fun and useful at the same time. There are many types of games that enhance and challenge players' skills in terms of logical, strategic, or verbal reasoning. For instance, when I was in the elementary school, some of the English lessons took place in a computer lab, where we were technically just playing computer games. However, they were designed in such a way, that playing them resulted in us learning new vocabulary or grammar concepts. The fact is, there are dozens businesses built just around providing educational software to kids all ages!

Thirdly, children interacting with modern technologies, even in the form of computer games arguably helps them growing up in nowadays heavily informatized society. Being exposed to the IT at such young age makes computer related work at later stages of life relatively easier, especially in comparison to the previous generations, who encountered digital media late in their lives.

To sum up, I do not think of computer games as a waste of time and I caution against totally forbidding children from them. Mainly because I respect kids' right to have them as a hobby, recognize various educational forms that games may take, and also acknowledge their role in exposing youngsters to the modern technologies which are essential in the 21st century.