The purpose of television is to educate, not to entertain. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of civilization, history has had one of the greatest roles in people's lives from all around the world, for it has had one of the most prominent influence on decisions in their lives. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that it is crucial for all university students to take history courses whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. In no way could I agree with the latter viewpoint since from my vantage point, it is crystal clear that history has a consequential influence on students' lives since by knowing about history, not only can students do better in their social life, but also they will love their country considerably more as well. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my perspective.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that so influential has reading history been that it has had a great number of positive effects on people's lives from all around the world, yet above all it has helped them in their social life. I personally believe that it is obvious that students knowing about history of different countries can much easier socialize with other people on account of the fact that they know a lot about the culture of a great number of people from all around the world. Highly interested in traveling, my friend, a student, went to the foreign country in which he was interested about a year ago. He had read about the history as well as the culture of the people in that country in one of his courses in the university, and therefore, he could easily find a great number of friends there, for he knew about a lot of things making them amused. Not until this incident occurred did I realize the importance of knowing about history in people's social life and firmly believe that had he not read about the history of that country in one of his courses in the university, he could not have been able to find that number of friends there.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that on the one hand some people believe that it is not really important for all students to take history courses in the university since students have to focus on their own related courses helping them to do best in their society, yet on the other hand some people believe that it is so important for students to take history courses in the university on account of the fact that by doing so, they will love their country considerably more, and therefore, it is much more probable for them to stay in their own country and try to help it improve. I take the former viewpoint with a grain of salt and claim that the latter viewpoint is much closer to the reality, for I believe that the more people know about the history of their own country, the more they will be encouraged to help it improve since they know about all the things that have happened to their country and all the people that have tried to do their best to help their country, thereby, they feel some kind of responsibility for their own country.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that it is significantly preeminent for students to take history courses in the university inasmuch as in the first place, they will be able to do better in their social life, and in the second place, they will love their country considerably more. The most I can hope for, and it is not a small hope, is that in the not too distant future, students from all around the world will take courses related to history, and by doing so they will know about the history of both their own country and other countries, therefore, they will try to do their best to help their society improve, for as a proverb says “the biggest room in the world is the room for improvement” I firmly contend that it is preeminent for us to help our society’s breakthrough.