Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the attributes for the development of a strong relationship is the truth. Some people think that always telling the truth is very important in a relationship. On the other hand, I believe that hiding the truth from your partner for his benefit is acceptable.

To begin with, no one can deny the fact that the truth and honesty are fundamental characteristics of a good relationship. I agree with this but if there is some wisdom in hiding the truth then it is acceptable. If I have to choose telling a lie for the betterment of my loved ones, I will definitely go with this. For example, my husband loves physical activities. We always go for cycling on weekends. Last month his friend told him about a cycling competition. He decided to participate in the competition. I knew that he is not very good to win a cycling competition, but I always encouraged him that he is very good in this activity and he will definitely win that competition. This thing motivated him so much, and he started to do more practice. In the competition, he did not win but he ended up as a third runner up. This is due to his hard work and motivation, which he got from my words. So telling the truth for the betterment of others is fine for me.

Secondly, sometimes we hurt others by telling them the truth. This can spoil our relationship. My friend’s example is here. Elisa was a very good friend of mine when I was in college. One day she had a new hairstyle. She came to me and asked about her hairstyle. I told her bluntly that I did not like her new hair, and did not suit on her. This truth hurt her feelings because she was very excited for her new hair. At that time she went back sadly. After that, I realized that I might hurt her feelings and this thing will affect our friendship. If I just said to her that your hair are fine instead of telling her the truth, she was not get so much upset. This example demonstrates that sometimes telling the truth can hurt others’

In conclusion, I firmly agree that it is acceptable to tell a lie to your loved ones in a relationship for their betterment and can prevent us from hurting their feelings.