Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People should focus on the happiness of others instead of their own happiness.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your response.

Although some people tend to believe that happiness of other ought to be a priority for any person, I adhere to another viewpoint. Personal happiness should be put ahead because it is a realistic and achievable goal which has positive consequences on person’s health.

To begin with, a mind of another person is a puzzle or riddle which cannot be solved, at the same time, our mind is an open map to which we have a complete access. In other words, our happiness is an achievable goal because we always can look at our desires and understand what we ought to do in order to achieve a feeling of happiness. For instance, recently I had a car accident. I violated a traffic law and hit another car. I was deeply upset because of this situation. I couldn’t believe that I neglected an obvious rule and committed a collision. Although, my parents and girlfriend tried to cheer me up, their attempts failed completely. However, I know myself quite well. Thus, I decided to go to a water pool, this physical activity and a nice meal with a chocolate cake and strong coffee made me happy again. This example illustrates that our happiness is our business because only we have all needed knowledge about our desires and mind.

The second reason to focus on your happiness is that feeling of happiness is connected with health. I assume that everyone understands and accepts that health is important for any person. It is well-known for centuries that feeling of happiness is tied to people’s health, in fact, I might support this idea from my own experience, several years ago I contracted a severe virus which made me feel really sick. Although, I used drugs which were given me by a therapist, I kept feeling exhausted and depressed. The situation changed dramatically after I made a decision to cheer myself up. I ordered my favorite food in a local restaurant; moreover, I tried to make myself feel better my any means. As a result, the next day I felt myself much healthier and happier at the same time, I am sure that this feeling of happiness was a key to my health and without it the illness might have continued for much longer period of time.

Finally, I am prone to assume that personal happiness has a positive impact on people who are near the happy person. I think that each of us look at his or her own experience we will unavoidably find support for this statement. For instance, when my girlfriend is happy and she is positive, I feel myself good as well. By contrast, when she is irritated or upset, it is uncomfortable to be near her. Thus, if we concentrate our efforts on our happiness, we will positively effect on other people with whom we interact.

In conclusion, our happiness ought to be in focus because it is an achievable goal which leads to health and happiness of others.