Reading books is important for children to gain knowledge about the world However some parents force their children to read non fiction books as they believe fiction is not good for children Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to su

Books have always been a good source of information. Reading books will be good for children as it helps them to expand their knowledge. But there comes the dilemma to the parents whether or not children should be allowed to read fictional novels. As far as me, I think reading fictional novels will help the children to improve their emotional and knowledge levels. There are quite a few reasons for that opinion of mine.

The first novel I ever read is a fictional one, the book name is "five point someone" by Chetan bhagat. The book is about three high college students who are forced to fulfil their parents dream though they are not having any interest in what they are studying. It talks about their struggles in college and how important friends are in life. This book opens the eyes of the reader, on how society and parents are putting pressure and crushing childhood dreams. It also clearly depicts that every person has his own talent and just have to follow it.

Also from the gaining knowledge perspective, there are many novels which will enhance the knowledge of the reader while reading them like the Sherlock Holmes books written by Conan Doyle, which are about a detective who solves cases with his sheer brilliance and critical thinking. While reading these novels, the reader is constantly made to question, what might be the criminal next move and how to catch him with the clues he left behind. It helps the reader to improve his or her critical thinking and analytical abilities which are very important to succeed in life.

So likewise there are many other fictional novels which will help the children to develop their knowledge and perspectives about the world, which can be clearly depicted through fictional characters and drama. Due to these reasons, I believe that reading fictional books is good for children and parents should allow their children to read them.