Safety standards are important when building people’s homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes – the government or the people who build the homes?

Although there is a possibility of natural hazard or other disaster in the community where individuals live or work, they can influence the most important factor in saving lives and reducing losses from these unpredictable events. Hence, enforcing strict building codes substantially diminish the severity of damages. In my opinion, both of the government and the people are responsible for improvement construction for the protection of life and property, but building codes are adopted, modified and enforced by local government official.

In general, improving the quality and safety of buildings need the cooperation of the authorities and people. For the most part, code enforcement is the responsibility of local government building officials who review design plans, inspect construction work and permit to building. Also, government adopts laws to monitor construction as well as deal with violation of standard for construction. Meanwhile, evaluating older buildings and retrofitting their structural components are critical steps for government.

On the other hand, it is important to keep in mind that buildings destroy in a short time due to poor engineering or the use of non-standard materials in order to reduce costs. Therefore, people are obliged for implementing the rules and attention to the strengthen and safety of buildings for immunization their homes. In so doing, increasing the quality of construction reduces damage caused by natural hazard such as earthquake or flood and also fire, explosion and other disaster.

In short, there is no more important factor in reducing a community’s risk from one disaster than the adoption and enforcement of up-to-date building codes. To survive, communities should strengthen their buildings so that these can withstand an earthquake or other disaster.