Sample TOEFL essay: do you agree or disagree with the following statement? people should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Doing something you dislike is sometimes beneficial

Everybody in his life has faced situations that he or she has to do something that he or she disliked. If you enjoy doing something it is easy for you to do it. But if you dislike something it is the time that things get harsh. Try to do an activity that you dislike. At least you will learn something new or you will raise your self-confidence about something that you have thought you may fail to do it. In this context, we will discuss it in details.

Most people do not have a problem when they do an activity that they like. They are self-motivated or maybe they have done it successfully in the past, so the self-confidence is present. For instance, you are asked to give a speech in front of a large number of audience, fortunately, if you have done it before or experienced such a situation it is easy to do it.

But what if you want to do something that you dislike? In most of the cases, lack of self-confidence is the major problem. So what to do? Putting yourself in such a situation will make you overcome the fear, in other words doing something you dislike will raise your self-confidence. As I gave an example in the previous paragraph putting yourself in the situation like speaking in front of a large number of audiences will make you overcome the fear and raise your self-esteem.

In conclusion, the force inside our mind that is preventing us from doing something or making us feel dislike about it should be stopped. As a matter of fact, doing something that we do not enjoy, practically will enhance our self-confidence and self-esteem and moreover help us to overcome our fears.