Schools always collect information about teachers' teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who perform well. Which way do you think is more useful?

1. to evaluate teachers' performance by students

2. to evaluate teachers' performance by teachers

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a quite common phenomenon that each year companies reward several best workers to encourage them and foster the whole team spirit, including the teaching industry. When it comes to deciding who should be awarded, some people claim that students should be the judges, as they have followed candidates to learn for the whole semester, however, from my perspective of view, teaching performance should be evaluated by teachers, rather than students, simply because colleagues would take professional skills and off-class efforts into consideration, which can hardly be noticed by students.

To begin with, teachers can evaluate each other from a professional angle, since they all have undergone the stern training of how to become a competent professor. Thus, they know whether the candidates manipulate the lecture process properly, and whether the candidates master the skills of when to introduce a new concept, when to give some vivid examples to illustrate an abstract theory, and when to tell a humorous story in order to have a short break for students. Such tiny skills are quite indispensable for successful teaching progress. However, these tiny things cannot be noticed by students as they have not taken special training in teaching skills. Thus, students cannot be capable of evaluating the teacher's professional performance.

In addition, teachers can evaluate working attitudes and off-class efforts, since they all work in the same office. Thus, they can observe candidates from diverse aspects, such as the effort of preparing materials, the time of revising students' homework and so on. These efforts, which are invisible for students, should be a significant factor in the evaluation. For example, a novice, who just graduated from the university, must be deficient in teaching experience which needs to be accumulated for several years. However, he always works from the dawn to the dusk, and devotes himself to fostering students' learning habits and improving students' grades. Who else should be rewarded except for such kind of teacher?

Admitting that students are the real audience and should have the right to remark teacher's performance to some extent, however, students are easily affected by their personal feelings and cannot judge from an objective view since they are pretty young. For instance, had one student been punished by the professor, he might give a negative comment even though the professor is quite qualified with years of teaching experience. On the contrary, had one student got awarded from his teacher, this student might submit a high score even though this teacher is biased towards some students. Such information collected from young students is meaningless and cannot reflect the true teaching ability.

So based on the reasons above, we can safely conclude that teachers are more suitable to be the judges compared to students, since they can evaluate from both professional aspects and invisible efforts. What's more, students can be easily distracted by personal feelings.