Several cities have made it a rule that teachers will give primary school students no more than 30 minutes of homework per night, because the students get enough instruction during school day.

In contemporary society, homework is a major tool in strengthen knowledge that students have learned in daily courses and it can be used to improve education quality in some states. Some cities recently stipulate that small kids are not supposed to do homework more than 30 minutes per night for the reason that young children already obtain enough information during school. From a personal pint of view, I strongly agree with this point for this requirement would benefits pupils a lot. The following are the reasons to substantiate my perspective.

First of all, primary children have received enough instructions at school. Primary schools are places where children can dabble in as many areas as possible so they can find which field their interests really lies in. Therefore, classes under teachers’ guidance such as reading classes where they can get exposed to the beauty of words and pointing classes where they can understanding draw is s good way to express themselves are enough for them. There is no need for them to spend another long period to further their skills after school. On the contrary, when primary students have assignment in some subjects that takes a long time to complete, even if they have interests in those courses, they would eventually lose that motivation since too much homework dampen their enthusiasm for study. Hence, kids have already grasp enough knowledge in school and giving them some free time could cultivate their interests in study.

In addition, assignments requiring more than 30 minutes to finish is harmful to children’s well-rounded growth. The age of 5-10 is a prime time for children to grow both mentally and physically. If young students are forced to tie themselves to a chair for over half an hour after a whole day’s learning, the time left for them to hang out with friends, play football and even learn to family chores will be cut down. No one would expect their children to grow up into an adult to achieve great academic success at the expense of physical health and personal life. For example, if primary students spend more than 30 minutes staring at their books and keeping one posture, their eyesight would be damaged and their bodies would be deformed. Even if they could get outstanding grades in the exam, their body conditions would be get hurt and this consequence would never be recovered. As a result, giving kids moderate amount of homework is the most appropriate way to improve their study as well as development in the long run.

Admittedly, the longer time spent on learning what has been taught in classes, the better children can grasp it. Under these circumstances, some people argue that it is necessary to assign a lot of homework to kids. However, the one merit can not outweigh the drawbacks it bring to children, especially when they are only 5 to 10 years old.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, I believe that schools should not allocate homework that require primary students to take more than 30 minutes to finish since the youth learn enough knowledge during school day and they need free time to enjoy a colorful after-school life.