Should a company invest in employee skills or should they go for infrastructure and other needs, which do you, suggest and why? Give reasons and examples to support your answer?

Most of the companies these days have excellent infrastructure and skilled people who manage office operations. Offices are equipped with coffee machines, stable wifi, comfortable desks for everyone to have their space, etc.. These are basic requirements for every resource that an office should take care of. Other than that, I feel that there is no need to overdo the infrastructure. Employees will be more than satisfied if employers would take care of them in terms of helping them gain better professional knowledge. Hence I believe that companies should invest in employee skills than investing in infrastructure. In what follows, I will note down a few points that can help explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, technologies are getting upgraded almost every single day. A company needs to cope up with this fast change by training their employees as and when required. Being a software developer by profession, I can discuss my own experience here. In the world of information technology, if employees are not getting properly trained, it does no take longer for their skills to eventually become irrelevant and obsolete. I had to receive training of three different front-end technologies in a year, one after the other, to be able to catch up with a diversity of projects in my company.

Secondly, when employees get to realise that their employer is concerned about their self-development and professional well-being, they tend to hold on to their current job rather than considering a switch. It is a wise step of capturing the interest of the present as well as future employees. For instance, MNCs like IMB prefer to provide certification courses to employees who are willing to gain knowledge of cutting-edge technologies. These courses are financed by the company to maintain the quality of employee skills.

Last but not least, to ensure integrity, employees are required to be trained about the company's updated policies and guidelines at certain intervals. For example, in every company, resource management holds training annually, bi-annually or quarterly. These training not only target the revision of company guidelines but also educate employees on how to uplift their mental health, manage their priorities, maintain a healthy work-life balance and many more.

To conclude, developing the infrastructure gives a boost to the look and feel of the workplace. Ensuring the comfort of employees is significant and helps them to focus on their job, better. Yet, for employees to remain dedicated and continue to respect the integrity of their company, investing in upgrading employee skills is a must.