Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation?

With the increase of world population traffic problems on roads increased exponentially. Governments try to seek solutions for this problem to make people’s life easier. Some experts think that more money should be spent on improving roads and highways; others believe that finances should be allocated for improving public transportation. Without a doubt, amending public transportation is the best approach.

First of all, changing or improving public transportation system will lead to changing people’s everyday life fundamentally. They will be able to manage their time more precisely and save additional expensive minutes. Take for instance my parents. Years ago, we did not have subway station adjacent to our house. It raised a lot of problems: they had to wake up too early, because they would be late for work; sometimes they were annoyed because of all road problems, such as traffic jams; and they were exhausted to get home late. However, when subway station was ready it took up a lot of burdens from my parents. There were far fewer traffic issues and they were able to easily get to workplace both by car and subway. Hence, they could spend more quality time with family and friends.

Furthermore, it is obviously will allow residents to feel convenient. All road issues like early mornings and late nights will result variety of problems such as stress or anxiety. Like my parents, many people experience this kind of problems every day. Moreover, this can influence people’s productivity in workplace. Recently, I read in local newspaper an article about residents’ quality of life before and after building subway station and adding bus lines. Statistics shows that amendments in public transportation fundamentally change people’s everyday life to the best. They became to work with more productivity and zeal, easily reached they career heyday. In conjunction with efficiency people in my town started to involve in volunteering works more frequently which reflects their fierce loyalty to their hometown. This all was the consequence of the stress’s lack which people used to experience in the past.

In conclusion, roads and highways can be in excellent conditions but that will not prevent all the issues people experience because of poor public transportation system. The absence of comfort among people should be essential for government. In addition, amendments in infrastructures like public transportation will be seen in residents’ changing behavior, productivity, and happiness.