Should the money invested into a university library be used to buy
books or to buy computers? What do you think? Why?
With the introduction of computers to the modern world, books, the
traditional medium, are more and more challenged. Libraries often face the
dilemma of whether to invest on computers or on books. With all aspects
carefully considered, I think to invest on computers would be a better choice.
When equipped with computers, a library may run more efficiently than ever.
Students or faculties may get useful information as fast as the computer can. A
student may find it easier to type in only a key word and get the desired
results, which, if done with books, may well need a long time scanning among
many related books; A (a) researcher may feel it more convenient to find an
article on those CD series than in a paper book. With the development of
computer technology, such as the increase of CPU rate, memory, or
embedding of cache on the main-board, the efficiency of data retrieval can
only be accelerated, whereas a man’s reading speed is normally limited to
some extent.
The efficiency of getting information is the readers’ major concern.Whilefor the librarians, what they care most is how to store as much as possible
information within limited space.
A computer has a large storage capacity. When a book with 750, 000
Chinese characters is stored as electronic text, it only take ( takes) about 1M
bytes on the hard disk. When stored on a normal CD with 640MB capacity,
when these CDs are packed in locks, much precious space will be spared for
other uses.
Unlike a book, a mortal physical medium, a computer may keep all data
on its disk safe and sound. It is very easy for us to copy, backup, or transfer
those data to recordable CDs or other recording materials.
The last but not the least, Internet may provide these computers with
more capabilities of future information exchanges.
Books, certainly, have their own merits. People have enough reasons to
cherish this traditional medium. Books are easy to carry, more affordable and
conveniently read without extra consumption of any other type of energy.
However, for a modern library, computers, equipped with much more
important merits like high efficiency large capacity, durability and Internet
accessibility, can be more reasonably treated as a wiser choice.