Some companies decided not to allow employees to discuss business by sending mails or messages on weekends. Some people believe that this policy is great. Others believe that this policy will discourage employees. What is your opinion and why?

Some people think that permitting workers to talk about businesses by sending messages on weekends is a fabulous idea, while others disagree. For me, I fully agree that companies should not allow employees to discuss any work-related issues on non-weekdays. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, companies should focus on employees’ mental health, and disallowing them to discuss work during the weekends helps them become less stressed. For instance, my brother’s company tells him to relax and have fun on weekends. My brother often brings his family to the mountains and observes adorable animals running in the woods. Sometimes, he asks his friends out and enjoys delicacies in fancy restaurants during the weekends. All of these activities help him restore his mood and refresh his mind. Therefore, he does not feel under a lot of pressure whenever he returns to work. On the other hand, my friend Todd is a web designer, but his managers force him to do work on Saturday. Todd told me that he constantly feels tired and exhausted every day because he could not get enough sleep on weekends. A few months later, he got insomnia and depression, and he even sued his company for damaging his mental status. Letting workers have a rest can prevent them from getting mental issues.

In addition, companies usually focus on workers’ efficiency, and forbidding them to talk about their work on weekends boosts employees’ efficiency to a great extent. Take my cousin’s company as an example. My cousin’s IT company disallowed engineers to access workstations from home on weekends. Simultaneously, his supervisors frequently require programmers to hand in their tasks within a single week. As a result, engineers in his company have no choice but to work harder during the weekdays. Eventually, most people can complete each of their programming missions in less than 12 days. On the contrary, my sister’s IT company permitted their employees to access computers in the company on Sunday. Most workers mess around during the weekdays because they know that they can work from home during the weekend. As a result, even though employees work more hours per week, the overall efficiency drops significantly due to procrastination on weekdays. To be more specific, her colleagues often finish writing a small piece of front-end HTML code using more than two weeks. Dissuading employees to work on the weekends through policies allows workers to increase efficiency.

In conclusion, I maintain that companies should not permit workers to discuss businesses via messages or emails during the weekend. After all, companies should emphasize workers’ efficiency and mental health. Of course, there are some benefits to working non-weekdays. Nevertheless, I believe that my reasons are more persuasive.