Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Whether parents should give a prize to their children whenever they carry out a task perfectly is among the most controversial subjects, which often provoke many discussions. Some people keep endorsing the claim that it’s a good idea to offer their student offspring money for their good grades whereas others dismiss this idea. Personally, I have a mixed opinion in this regard and believe that it can provides both advantages and disadvantages simultaneously. In what follows, I will thoroughly elucidate what rationales my view point is based on.

The first and foremost reason is pertinent to one of the advantages of suggesting money to children. From a general perspective, offering prize to immature children for their good jobs such as good grades can encourage them and, hence, motivate them to try to repeat that task. Psychologically, individual, regardless of their age, sense a feel of proud and consent whenever they are praised for their good task. Therefore, under-aged kids will also be instigated to study more by these offers which bring about satisfying senses for them. Take my own experience as a compelling example. When I was student, my father would give money as a financial prize to me if I could pass a very important exam which allowed me to enter an excellent school. Although studying for such a competing and hard exam was arduous for me, but his tempting offer was a great incentive for me which pushed me forward studying. Honestly, hardly I can say that my studying was not due to that offer.

The second pivotal vindicating point I mention is regarding to the disadvantages of such offers to children. In contrast, these financial offers can relatively have adverse impact on children since they forget the main goal of studying and achieving good grades which is learning. After a while, by attaining money after each good grade over and over, they will try for the money itself not for the knowledge. As a result, the objective of everything will gradually fade away for them and money become the mere thing that they endeavor for. Returning to my own aforementioned experience, money had become my purpose and I was just trying in order to get that money, neither the good grade nor that excellent school was of high significance for me.

To put in a nutshell, parents should be very careful about prize they offer to their offspring, especially the immature and younger ones. Conclusively, financial offers can be an impressive incentive for children to encourage them to study and achieve excellent grads. However, such suggestions can also distort the children from the main aim of studying and getting good grade, which is learning rather than attaining money.