Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important for parents to keep their children motivated during school years. In this regard, some would suggest that offering money would be a good way in order to keep the children enthusiastic, yet others disagree with this, saying that this is not a good idea and would definitely have a negative impact on children. I would argue that giving money for a high grade would have a negative impact on them. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, by giving money as a motivation to children, they will always expect something nice after every responsibility to which they are entitled. In other words, they will lose their internal motivation for study, not willing to accomplish their study for its own sake, instead, they will study in order to attract others' attention. Therefore, they will always need external motivation and encouragement from others. Moreover, through time, their expectation will grow and they would need a great deal of money to satisfy their desire. My personal experience is a compelling illustration for this when my little sister does not pay attention to subjects at school and my father had promised her that if she gets a good GPA, he will give her money to buy herself whatever she wanted to. In the end, my sister got used to this behavior, and she would not study for her exams unless there was a reward promised from my father.

Furthermore, it is no secret to anyone that, not all of the students at school have a wealthy family in order to provide their children money for each high mark. So, not only they would lose their motivation for study, but also they would consider themselves excluded from society and this can raise aggressive behavior in children as well. For example, when I was in elementary school, I have a friend who was a talented and hard work student, but after a while, she completely has changed and quit the school since for every good grade most of the students of the class would get a big present or money, but her family could barely support themselves financially, which has a detrimental effect on her.

In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, giving money to children for getting high marks would have a negative impact on them. Not only they would lose their internal motivation for study, but also it will raise their expectation over time. On top of that, not all families are in a good condition financially to give money as a reward, so it will hurt other students who are not wealthy.