Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

Making right decisions is very important. We make decisions every day and take the consequences. Some people believe that the right way of making decisions is by listening to the advice of friends and family, while others may disagree. In my view, following the suggestion of friends and family can cause serious problems for three reasons.

First, by listening to wrong advice, one may choose a wrong career. For example, I have a uncle who has been working in the government office since the day he graduated from college. He was considered as the most successful man in our family because of the high salary and additional benefits of his job. So when I was about to graduate, my parents sincerely took my uncle’s advice of letting me join his office in order to be as successful as he was. So I did it. However, the government reduced the salary of all employees and canceled all the benefits. And my parents relazied that they made a wrong decision by listening to my unlce’s advice, leading me to a wrong career.

Second, listening to others can waste a lot of money. For example, I was planing to buy a television and I turned to my friends for advice. They told me Sony was the best for its high quality and many functions. So I took their advice and it cost me a lot of money to bought a Sony TV. After a few days, I felt there was almost no difference between my old TV and the new one. Besides, most of the functions, which my friends said was esstiontial, turns out to be useless. I felt my money was wasted because there was no need to buy such an expensive TV at all.

Third, you will suffer a unpleasant life after you took wrong advice. For example, I saw from the news that one talented boy killed himself because he was bankrupt. He used to be a rich man before he was cheated by his partner who told him that the best way to be richer is to go to the casino. He trusted his fellow so much that he even didn’t think himself until it was too late. This sad story told me that wrong advice can bring unpleasant consequences to one’s life.

In a nutshell, I was full convinced that listening to others possesses many problems for it gives you a wrong direction in your career, causes financial problems and make an unpleasant ending of life. Therefore, it is definitely right to make our own decisions.