Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

University life is challenging and requires a lot of effort to graduate. No one can deny that students should take some holidays throughout their university life. However, there are different choices for the duration and the frequency of that vacation. If I were forced to choose one, I would definitely have several short leaves, and I will develop the reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, students will have a chance to refresh themselves more often if they have more than one vacation. Every student should free their minds in order to study efficiently and achieve their goals because throughout the semesters, unsurprisingly, they are overwhelmed with their schoolwork such as homework, exams, and assignments. For example, when I was studying at university, there were two terms throughout the year; none of the terms included short breaks, each of which started after a three-month holiday. Therefore, I studied so strenuously that when the final exams emerged, I had lost all my motivation to focus on my final exams. It resulted in two failed courses which I planned to take next year. If I had taken short breaks, for example, before the finals, I would definitely have passed these courses.

As a second reason, during the vacations, because you stay away from the university, it will negatively impact the outcome if you conduct research with an affiliated faculty member. Being far away from the labs for a long duration may cause your motivation to decrease as time goes by gradually. I have to admit that my own experience has profoundly influenced my opinion on this matter. I was simulating a real-time project at the communications laboratory in our department, and we were preparing a manuscript of our work to submit to a known journal. However, when the summer holiday started, my colleagues went away from the city. Consequently, we were not able to complete the paper until the deadline. Thus, I could not develop my CV, which in turn negatively influenced my research career as I was going to pursue Ph.D. programs at that time.

In light of these reasons, I firmly believe that having several short vacations is a better option for university students because it affects both your research career and your academic grades.