Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Other believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork, which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Nowadays, the world is so competitive that both mothers and fathers need to work hard to afford their family's livelihood. The modern hectic life leaves them with only a small amount of time to be around their children. However, since the time is limited, how to spend them the most effectively also becomes a problem. Some think that parents should spend their free time enjoying playing games or sports with their kids while others are of the opinion that this confined time should be contributed to education. To my view, the advantages brought by the former outweigh those of the latter.

First of all, participating in outdoor activities together tightens family bonds and children can learn important values. Since sports or games are always full of excitement and most children would obviously prefer playing to studying, family members would enjoy themselves a lot. Moreover, through these activities, children can learn about the team spirits, for example how each member should support each other. An illustration is my uncle's family. My uncle is a businessman who are usually on business trips while my aunt works as a doctor in the city's hospital. Because of busy work, they can be around with my cousins for a few days every month, most of which is spent outdoors. The whole family often plays badminton or basketball in their yard or in the city's park and sometimes goes to the city game center for bowling. Their family members can still maintain a harmonious relationship despite a constraint of spare time. Apparently, although the time that they are together is limited, the experience is pleasant and valuable to their children.

In addition, schoolwork usually brings pressure to both parents and kids, which is not favorable to their relationship. Not all children are good at studying, therefore, their poor performance might irritate the parents, who already cope with a great deal of stress at work place. As a result, reprimand seems unavoidable, which is, under no circumstances, healthy for a relationship. For instance, my uncle family, before having such a close connection like today, used to be under a lot of strains. My aunt gave my cousins assistance with their schoolwork. This created a lot of burden to my cousins that they would invent some excuse to avoid spending time with her. Fortunately, my uncle and aunt noticed this and changed their approach so that they can be happy like at present. They find some tutors to help my cousins with their schooling and play with my cousins in their leisure time instead. All in all, parents should not waste their precious free time in helping their children with homework, which seemingly only does harm to their rapport.

In conclusion, I believe that parents preoccupied with work should use their little spare time for joining activities like games or sports with their children instead of assisting their study.This enables them to create beautiful memories together and allows children to learn more about social life.