Some people prefer to work for a large company. Others prefer to work for a small company.

Which would you prefer? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice

Hardwork and dedication are the key to success in life. In terms of professional work, these two things are absolutely essential to achieve your goals. The preference of working for a large company or a small one is not offered to many in real life situations. One needs to grab any opportunity that comes along his/her way, mainly during the formative years of the career.

If I come across such a situation where i would have to choose, my preference would be to work for a small company. The essay will explore reasons for doing so.

Firstly, a smaller company has more experience and knowledge to offer, rather than a larger one. Speaking from my personal experience, comparing experience during my internship in a larger architectural firm for about 4 months and working as a graduate in a smaller architectural firm constituting only 3 people, the information that I gained in only 2 months is tremendous.

The hands on work that one gets do in such a scenario is more, thus the experience is magnified in diverse fields. Talking to clients, interacting with consultants and contractors and on site work are few of the many dimensions I got to cover lately. The work assigned to newly graduates or interns in bigger firms is merely related to the profession and is more superficial.

Moreover, the flow of work in a smaller company is more organised and strategically planned.

An example of an architectural company will help in elaborating this point better. The process of designing and execution of any building is a tediously long. The number of steps involved in it are discrete and diverse.

In such diversified fields of work, for a larger company, the jobs are assigned to specific people. This eventually leads to miscommunication as the group of people designing and the group executing have minimal interaction and the lack of coordination misguide the entire team, ending up in faulty construction. In contrast to this, for a smaller firm, the time taken to complete the jobs might be a little more, but the task at hand is performed assiduously. Every person is aware about the ongoing step and gives his/her input in successfully completing the project. The lack of coordination is eliminated plus job satisfaction is attained when the work done reaches it apex.

Although I would opt for a smaller company for the influx of knowledge, I do not disagree that one cannot learn at all in a larger firm. The larger firm has many other things to offer like, social interaction with co-workers, working with schedules and managing time to meet the deadlines considering the groups choices. The preference is based a lot on the persons personality, like an introvert would not be comfortable in a group of many people and would find it chaotic. The complete opposite would be felt by an extrovert who would enjoy interacting with his/her colleagues. In any case, the job has to be done with dexterity and conviction for possible attainment of skills.