Some people think that the family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence on young adults. Which view do you agree with?

Life is a process that has different stages, and each individual starts to learn from the moment he comes to the world. This entire process ends when people die and during life, people are influenced by various persons and situations. Some say that young adults are influenced by their friends, others assert that the family has the greatest impact. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter one, because the family bond is stronger and because parents can be unconsciously persuasive. I will explain my reasons in the following essay.

First and foremost, the relationship between parents and children is unique, it is the strongest possible one. Furthermore, the family is the only who protects and love their children unconditionally. In other words, no matter what bad decision or mistake the young adults make, their parents are there to cover their back, to comfort them and to reassure that everything is going to be fine. Whereas friends are more prone to be judgemental and to betray your confidence. To continue, at young people are very envy, and they try to make themselves famous, even if this means to bully innocent people. For instance, back in college one of my friends thought it was cool to bully a newcomer, and she really hurt him. This particular friend tried to engage me in her hame but I refused because my parents told me that I must not hurt someone ever, at least not intentionally. This is a relevant example of when my parents' advice was beyond my friend's.

Second, parents are experienced, they have lived more and as a result, they know how to deal with different situations, they know how to approach their children and to explain what they believe to be correct or wrong. Moreover, many parents try to communicate with their offspring and they are doing researches for understanding how to speak with young adults because every generation has its own moral principles. This means that what was applicable to parents a few decades ago, it is not efficient at present. Sometimes parents even read books and talk to the specialists in order to find out how can they better communicate with children. Therefore, through childhood, parents build a relationship based on trust and young adults value their parents' opinions. For instance, back in my twenties, all the members of my entourage used to smoke, and I was the only one who refused to do it, even though my friends really tried to persuade me. This is because my parents talked to me about smoking, explaining the side-effects. However, they did not forbid me to smoke, and my parents added that this is my own decision, that I owe my body and as an adult, I am capable of taking a decision about this. Actually, I did not try because they way my parents approached this matter really touched me and made me feel capable of making good decisions.

To summarize, parents have the biggest influence on the young adults because they are the most trustful individuals and because parents have already experienced youth and its and their advice is valuable.