Some people think the media (including newspapers,televisions,radio and internet sources) are less concerned with the accuracy of news. some people think the information from the media are becoming incorrect. Do you agree with this opinion or not and explain why?

Nowadays, as the media have become one of the major news resources, whether the information informed by media is becoming incorrect or not has become the top concern of modern citizens. From my perspective, I agree that the media are less concerned with the accuracy of news and the information inform by the media are becoming incorrect based on the following considerations.

First, the eye-catching news would spread more widely and quickly than normal news, although it is incorrect. which I guess is also the major reason why the media editors have incentive to add more nonexistent details to the news in order to capture people's attention. The prime example is the news about the bus accident happening in October 2018, which reported that a bus with 23 passengers crashed into Yangtze river in order to evade a red car driven by a female driver, which went the opposite direction. That report posted a photo of the female driver sitting on the bridge, and attribute all the causes of the accident to the female driver, and it said that if the female driver could obey the traffic regulation, the bus would be safe. At that moment, all the citizens paid attention to this accident and started to reproach this woman in the photo. However, three days later, the video record in the bus showed that it is because the bus driver had a conflict with one passenger, and they fought with each other when driving on the bridge. As a result, the bus was lost control and crashed in to Yangtze river. As for the female driver, she was just passed by. Even though the news is filled with unproved details, it spread so widely that almost every one pay attention to this news. Accordingly, I believe that the media are less concerned with the news accuracy but the popularity of the news.

Second, what should not be ignored is that the cost of making incorrect news is relatively low, at most be criticized by small part of careful citizens for a few days. The same example of the news about the bus accident can be applied here, after the video record has been released, the news center just deleted the former news report and published a new one without further explanations. Of course, its behavior was criticized by the citizens for one or two days, but after that, most of them seemed to forget it. Even though my father, a bus driver, who is very concerned with this accident, after complaining on the obvious fault made by newspaper office, continued to read the news report published by the same newspaper office. What is more, my father and his friends still discussed the accident based on the exciting details provided by the news, which were rejected by the relatives of the bus driver and policemen. All of these indicate that the newspaper office pays little for their exaggerated and incorrect news report. Therefore, I maintain that the media office would not care much about the accuracy of the news but its attraction.

Admittedly, the new implemented regulations might limit the number of fake news of exaggerated news. I have to mention the fact that the elaborated news polished by the editors are hard to distinguish whether it is fake or authenticated, which means the regulations are hard to play a role in maintaining the accuracy of news. So, I would agree that attracting more reader using some exaggerated news or even incorrect news is what the media will do.

In conclusion, based on the analysis above, I am confident to say that media are less concerned with the accuracy of news and the information from the media are becoming incorrect.