Some people think that they can learn better by themselves than with a

teacher. Others think that it is always better to have a teacher. Which do

you prefer? Use specific reasons to develop your essay.

We learn many things throughout our lives. Sometimes we learn by ourselves or sometimes we learn by teachers. Although learning by ourselves has some advantages, learning by teachers is not unimportant even it is more beneficiary for the students to learn by a teacher. There are some reasons that is why I hold this opinion.

First, teachers are resource person and experienced enough that help students to learn in an appropriate things in a easy way. We go to our school, college and even in university where we meet teachers who are qualified and possess higher degree on specific fields. They provide us information and materials that are unknown to us. In these days, people get access to internet to learn more by themselves, however, teachers are the person who better knows what are important for you and what are unimportant. For example, when I was doing my research in inorganic chemistry, I searched google to find out more information on the topic I was interested. I stored so many information on this topic and just overwhelmed that what should I do? In the meantime, my professor advised what was important for me and gave a direction to solve the problem. If my professor didn’t show the right direction, it would have taken a long time to solve the problem. As my professor was an excellent resource person, I found that opportunity and it was quite impossible for me to solve the problem in a simple way.

Second, teachers can identify the strength and weakness of students and help them to improve their capacity where they are weak. Teacher are qualified and experienced in specific field, so they are able to recognize the students capacity, and at the same time understand what are important to include or exclude in order to attain the goal. For example, I tried my best to learn English language, and it was my second language. Every time I got a poor grade in the TOEFL exam. Therefore, I started learning with a professional English teacher; where he noticed that I was so weak in writing academic topics in independent and integrated writing. Furthermore, after providing some materials, he told me to exercise what he provided. In addition, he checked every writing and identified all of error I made, provided necessary recommendations and corrections that were greatly beneficial for me. After six months of study, I was able to pass my TOEFL exam writing section with a good score. I think If I didn’t go to the English teacher, I would have not able to learn how to write good academic writhing.

Therefore, I strongly believe that teachers are important for leaning as they are experienced and resource person and gave a wright direction to go forward.