Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Parents always play an important role in their children's lives. Therefore, some young adults would rather live with their families for a longer time. On the other hand, some people want to be independent of their parents. Personally, I am of the latter opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it will be much easier for a young adult to be successful in life if he learns to be independent at a young age. When a child decides not to rely so much on his parents, it means that he wants to take control of his own life and he knows what he wants his life to be exactly. Therefore, he is more persistent to pursue his dreams and more prone to success. My brother's experience is a good example to illustrate this. When he was eighteen, he wanted to be more independent of our parents since he didn't want to be their hard burden. He went studying abroad in order to realize his dream as a programmer. Without his parents by his side, he learned to make important decisions on his own and although some of them weren't great, he gained a lot of experience and he knew how to successfully overcome difficulties. As a result, with some ups and downs, he managed to make his dream come true when he was offered a well-paid job at Google. Hadn't it been for all of the hardness of being on himself, he wouldn't have learned so much and been successful.

Furthermore, parents are not always there for us to rely on so we need to get used to being on our owns. Parents already have many things to worry about every day such as their jobs, the numerous bills they have to pay including their children's tuition, so it is better for children to be independent of their parents and make their lives less stressful. Moreover, many parents are required to work abroad or to go on working trips on a daily basis. Consequently, parents are not always available for children to count on. For example, my parents have to travel a lot due to their jobs' description. Since I was a kid, I have had no choice but to be more independent and self-reliant. I was taught to make meals, do laundry, do my homework all by myself. Although sometimes I feel very depressed because of living alone but day by day, I became more and more mature and it didn't take me so much time to familiarize myself with the life in college.

In conclusion, I truly believe that young adults ought to be independent of their parents. This is because the independence of parents will help children to be more mature, easier to be successful and children do not always have their parents by their sides to count on. Children ought to learn the one that is responsible for their own lives, not their parents.