Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their ma

by and large, in today's sophisticated world, in which spending time in beneficial affairs is vital for a successful life, it comes as no surprise that people sometimes need a break to be able to keep going. Universities are providing some break between semesters in order to give students some time to quit from tedious academic affairs. However, what activities should be assigned to the student in break times has been a subject of great controversy between academicians. There exist some people who believe that students should take a course with no direct connection with their field. In addition, the other group of people contends that students should be a volunteer in activities in which can enhance some aspects of their city. I personally on board with the latter idea and in what follows I will elaborate the rationale behind this thesis.

First of all, by doing some voluntary activities student can help the other people, which is a social and moral activity. it goes without saying that today's life is very challenging and people absolutely need help to handle their affairs. Getting help from other person, people in compensation help the other people because of its chain effect. by doing so the world will be a better place to live. According to DR. ASGHAR a famed sociologist at NAZ, students who volunteer in social activities to help other people will have a better life satisfaction rather than others, and they can easier take help from the other.

Another point worth mentioning is that volunteers will feel good in a psychological standpoint. Helping people will boost self-satisfaction factors. Some rather well-known of which are self-esteem and self-confidence. Take a student, for instance, enrolled in cleaning up the natural environment like the natural park of Barajin in IRAN. Helping to clean environment from plastic and glass, he/she will be satisfied from him/herself and will enjoy of people's applause. This satisfaction brings about self-confidence.

The final point deserves some words here is that taking a course in break times have an adverse effect on the academic performance. The breaks are a good time for being far away from study and doing something different. Should students use this break for study, they will fed up with it. As a result, it puts them in a bad academic performance. According to the recent yet relevant study at TSB, an account of 63 percent of students who dedicate their break time to take some classes take lower grades in comparison to other students. It obviously reveals that university's breaks are vital for students to refresh their mind.

In conclusion, it is better for students to be a volunteer to work in activities which make life easier as its morality values, psychological benefits and make their mind fresh to next semester. it is not so far away that most of the students in the word find this breaks as a good time for doing something beneficial for themselves and their society.