Task 2: Some people prefer to stay on campus. While others want to rent a house off-campus. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples.

Young adults who turn legal age have the right to decide their own lives including determining where to live without depending on their parents. However, some people are arduously weighing the benefits between staying on campus and renting a house off-campus. As for me, I lean on the idea that it is more appropriate for students to rent a house during their university lives due to some rational reasons.

First of all, most college students admitted that the cost and price of renting a house are much cheaper than using the school's dormitory. This is because the price of staying in the dormitory has included food and drink cost; students can use the school's canteen for their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Nevertheless, some students do not need this expense because the canteen’s beverages do not match their gout; as a result, they just found themselves wasting money on things that they even dislike. On the contrary, living alone in a rented house allows young adults to cook meals by themselves which relies on their favorite appetite. Therefore, a myriad of oppositions related to a rule in every American university that freshmen have to stay on campus during their first year eventuates consistently. Due to this rule, my brother, in spite of loosening the pace of catching American food, had to endure unsuitable dishes which led to his thinner looks up to one year.

Secondly, sexual assaults are one of the most concerning problems for those who stay on campus. It has been reported that sexual assaults occur owing to implicit alcohol parties that take place on school campuses. When the juvenile gets drunk, there are chances of unwanted sexual activity from unwanted touching to rape to happen toward participants. Unfortunately, sexual attacks on campus leave students suffering from depression; victims are likely to form antisocial behaviors, self-overprotected, and it is extremely harsh for students to reintegrate into society. To illustrate, my teacher was once a victim of sexual assaults on campus. She narrated that the incident left an indelible mark in her mind and took her a long time to strip off her shell.

In conclusion, I believe that every type of accommodation, somehow, has its own advantages. However, I appreciate students renting a house off-campus so that they can truly “live their own lives” as well as avoid sexual attacks. Furthermore, I call for education about sex in schools in order to reduce the number of sexual abuse cases now that education is the most powerful weapon to change this pathetic reality.