Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom

Classrooms are often a place for debates and talking about different views. While many people may believe it is not a good idea for a teacher to express his or her political and social beliefs, I think otherwise. In my opinion, it would be better if teachers make their views known to students since it is their job and makes children knowledgable about their surroundings.

First of all, a teacher's job is teaching and giving information to the pupils. In fact, they are employed and paid to do this. If teachers do not talk about their views, who is going to tell our kids about life issues? Students have no idea that who is who in politics and what social problems are since they are not mature enough to realize it themselves. For instance, when I was eighteen years old in high school, one of my teachers talked about the upcoming election. He informed us about how to vote and what every political party does and thinks. Then I could contemplate and decide which one to select for the election. If it were not for that teacher, I would have never been able to understand whom to vote at that time. Thus, it would be better if teachers could argue their political and social points of view.

In addition to the above statements, children need these types of discussions in class to learn about the society in which they live. It helps kids to be able to measure different and opposite sides of views and make better decisions in their life. For example, because I was debating in high school about various life matters with my fellow students and teachers, now that I am in university, not only can I discuss in the university auditorium, but also I hand in well-written papers about sociology as well. If that teacher did not let me talk in his class, I would not be able to thrive in university.

To sum it up, with all these statements taken into account, my firm belief is that teachers should be able to discuss their views on social and political matters; because it is their job and helps pupils know about their society.