Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Nowadays, there are more arguments on the value brought by the teachers. I agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays because of the following reasons.

Firstly, there are many alternatives which can also teach children. In the past, learning from teachers is the only way for children to gain some knowledge. However, with the development of technology, there are some machines and electronic devices which can teach children online. For example, the robot can help children practice English and teach children how to read a book. As a result, there are some extra resources for children to get new information, leading to the decreasing value of teachers.

Secondly, the requirement of society now becomes diverse. Not only should children learn from textbook, but also they have to attend some activities such as learning the piano, playing football and so on to increase their other skills. In short, learning from teachers is not the only way for children to develop.

Thirdly, the role of teacher changed a lot from past to now. For example, in China, we traditionally required children to respect the teachers strictly and to follow what the teacher said. Kong Zi, which is one of the greatest Chinese masters, taught us that we should respect our teachers. But currently, children are encouraged to challenge the teacher and take teacher as friends so that they can get more useful knowledge instead of only the knowledge required by the textbook. The traditional thinking has already lost in some kind of the situations because people tend to focus on the interaction between students and teachers.

Finally, as the parents become more knowledgable, there are more education made by parents recently. Teacher become a minor role in children's education. In addition, parents are the best role to teach their kid how to become a person when their kid is in the early age. For example, parents are responsible to teach their kid to be honest to his or her friends, which cannot be replaced by teachers. Luckily, parents get more educations than parents in the past. In the end, they can become well prepared to educate the children by themselves.

In conclusion, I think teachers play a more modern role in the society which is that they lead the children to learn rather than only to teach children what the knowledge itself is. Compared to the past, children can choose more options to learn and improve themselves in multiple ways.