teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were today? agree or disagree

Since the beginning of the current century, the life has become extremely advanced, moreover people are more rely on technological developments which open a door to a wealth of information. Although some people hold the voice that teachers were more appreciated in the past than nowadays, there is a solid body of opinion that casts doubts on these beliefs. From personal perspective, I support the first opinion which is people valued teachers in the past more than today given that the society has become so industrial, the education has been diminished, and people depend more on the technological inventions. Below I will strive my supportive reasons in more details.

Firstly, life has been so expensive so far, lots of people could not afford the tuition fees of colleges or universities. For example, in Egypt 60% of the population live under the poverty line; furthermore, students do not admit to universities after high schools. They take a loan and open their own business to earn money and support their families. Likewise, the high cost of living reduces the importance of the education. Consequently, spreading the ignorance diminishes the value of teachers.

Next, couple with expensive life, technological inventions are another reason for minimizing the role of teachers. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above is, the Faculty of Pharmacy students nowadays can take courses and do assignments online by using academic websites which are more cost-effective than attend the courses in the classrooms. In addition to that, people think they can learn by themselves and there is no need for teachers. Therefore, the vast accessibility to the free contents and information reduce the needs for teachers.

Although, the previous reasons are the first ones which across the mind at a glance, they are not the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which must be born in mind. The quality of education is diminished today. The noteworthy refreshing intelligible statistics, revealed by a recent survey conducted by the Oxford university found that not only the curriculum but also the quality of teaching decreased today which makes parents should involved to choose the subject that their kids will study. Furthermore, the teachers nowadays concentrate just on the academic knowledge not skills such as speech, body language, and psychological awareness. As a result, people do not respect teachers like in the past.

Taking everything into a consideration, without a doubt people in the past appreciate teachers’ role for education more than today. However, people should not deny the significance of teachers for the learning potential outcomes. It is suggested that governments put more funds for the education process to improve students’ motivation to learn.