TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

I think that at universities, sports and other social activities are important along with classes and libraries because they contribute to the holistic development of an individual's personality. However, I disagree with the statement that they should receive funding equal to that of allotted for classes and libraries for certain reasons.

First, the establishment of universities and colleges are primarily aimed at providing quality education for students. Classes, libraries and laboratories comprise major resources for education in a university. Hence, a large share of the funding should go for constructing, developing and renovating the facilities that support education. If equal share is given to sports and social activities we fall short of funding for our core purpose.

Second, there is a limitless scope for improvement or augmentation in research funding and library facilities. It has been proved on numerous occasions that universities that spend huge amount of funds for research and development have yielded excellent research output. For example, last year in our university, where I hold a position as a student representative in the university finance committee, we had surplus funding from the government. Instead of spending the extra money on sports and social activities, we allocated the same towards introducing a technical projects presentation program in our classes from next year. This initiative benefits students in developing their technical skills. Encouraging students and faculty by providing them higher perks for excellence in academic education and research motivates them to achieve greater success.

Based on the above two reasons, I believe that though sports and other recreational activities are important, providing excellent education (and maybe research) should be the primary motive that universities and college should strive for and this should be reflected by allocating greater share of funding towards education. Hence, I think that sports and social activities do not deserve financial support equal to that of classes and libraries.