TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

It is general truth that students’ education does not only consist sport and social activities or only classes and libraries. It is a must for them to develop social and sport skills as well as to gain knowledge from books. A simple recognition of the argument lends our discussion to the question of do sport and social activities are more important than classes and libraries for students in their lives or they are equal. Actually, people’s attitudes toward this subject are widely varied from person to person. Although some people adhere to this belief that more knowledge you gain from books and classes, better job you can get, easier life it will be for you, whereas other have opposite point of view, believing that we need not only professors and scientists; singers and champions are not less important for society and even for countries’ future generation. As far as I’m concerned, I contend that supporting financially social and sport activities just like classes and libraries is more important than to choose between them which has more priority because of the following reasons that I will discuss them.

The main reason for my propensity is that decisions, such as choosing a future career, gaining important knowledge, time spending in the gym or in the library are up to students. Universities and colleges only can help students to be the best in their chosen directions. Furthermore, universities should not decide for students where to work or what to do with their lives. By supporting with money the field, what is more preferred for universities, we can lose talented people. Take myself as an example. I used to study a lot in university. At the beginning of my term, I was alone and it was hard to meet someone although there were many students. My university had a good sport equipment and many social activities, so I walked into the sport club, asking to join classes. After couple of days in the sport club, I gained many new friends and got a part-time job as a gym trainer. Now I cannot imagine my life without gym. Sport helps me to reduce stress what I received during hard working or studying days. Social cycles what I gained in the gym help me to develop myself and to be updated about news. Classes gave me a lot of knowledge, which provide me a good place of work. In contrast, sport gave me good contacts and friends who offer me a job and made me not only strong but persistent person.

The second reason why I agree with it is that, undoubtedly, the places provided for sports and social activities are in need of money. It is common that the school will spend a large sum of money to purchase updated books and facilities to fulfill the requirements of classes and libraries. However, finding a suitable place to play sports or hold social activities is always hard. For instance, one of my friends, who is a professional basketball player, if he wants to read a book, he can easily find a seat in the library, but if he wants to run for half an hour, the crowded gym will just turn him into an upset mood. Then, requiring the same amount of financial support to ameliorate the condition is just reasonable.

On the whole, according to the above-mentioned points and details, it is crystal-clear that financial support should be contributed to sports and social activities just like classes and libraries, for they help with strengthening bodies, making progress in communication skills and they are in shortage of fund.