TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The essential question of the prompt is whether telling the truth should be considered to be the most important consideration in human’s relationship. Some people if asked would elaborate on the importance of truth between people, while others would mention respect, patience and love as equally valuable considerations. As far as I’m concerned, I adopt the firm position that having all four abovementioned elements in one’s relationship is going to make for brilliant relationship and none of them can be singled out as most important.

One reason to claim the necessity of respect in one’s relationship is because without respect there can be no good relationships. One person can be absolutely honest with another but disrespect him which erodes relationships and eventually will lead to a break up. To illustrate that idea let’s consider the following example. I remember my first childhood friend Mark. He was as honest as man can be because he was raised that way. He never cheated in our games, never lied to his parents or peers and always was regarded byt outlookers as the standart for honesty. But he didn’t know a thing about respect. He treated people and myself in particular as inferior. I certainly had my dignity and we occassionaly had quarrels which contributed to worsing of our friendship. In the end I parted with him and has never since he managed to restore our relationship.

Admittely, despite all reasonable evidence of the contrary, some people might argue that honesty is the pillar of any relationship on the premise that honest relatinship makes for inner happiness. And since happiness is what all people strive for one should consider telling the truth as crucial element. However, such position should be taken with a grain of salt. Those assertions are likely to be made under the assumption that honesty always leads to happy relationship which in fact is not true. Indeed, a research by VM in Ukraine together with my own observations has provided me with a clear picture of people having unhappy relationships because of the lack of love in them. So love is what makes people feel great. In the essence of love no cheering relationships are possible.

In summary, while there are various perspectives and viewpoints on the issue, it is clear that there are more supporting arguments to claim that honesty, respect, love and patience are mandatory to happy relationships then to posit the point of separating telling the truth as the most important consideration in any relationship. I suggest that maybe people having unhappy and troublesome relationships consider the other elements I’ve mentioned and try to incorporate them in their relationship. After that, we may have more smiling and cheerful people on the streets. After all, isn’t it what everybody wants?