TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being an honest individual often serves as benefits to the person's involved in. Many people are having hard time to give their trust in one's relationship. In my opinion, telling the truth in any relationship will bound for many positive outcome. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, not lying to your partner or loved ones will result in harmonious relationship, thus, a trusting and loving environment can happened. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I was in a relationship with my partner for 3 years, he is suspecting that I was having an affair with other man, but, I become honest to him that I was not cheating on him and showed him I cared and loved him. Additionally, He trusted me that I am telling the truth and I was not lying to him, hence, our relationship further grows and blossomed due to we have trust in our relationship. This chapter in our lives strengthen our bond as partner and test our relationship, to be more open and be truthful in each other. For this reason, I strongly believed that it is utmost important to center honesty in one's relationship to reap trust in each other.

Secondly, telling the truth will always set you free. It is not easy to be honest all the time, I myself have the difficulty divulging honesty in every word I say, thus, my soul and spirits was being uplifted when I avoid lying to people around me. For instance, I was on my sophomore year that time, my mother approached me because she caught me smoking. I first lied to her that it was not me that was smoking, but it was my brother. Moreover, I became guilty and mad at myself for not telling the truth with my mother, but, one day I admitted that it was me who was smoking at our garage. I felt happy and guilt free for telling my mom the truth, hence, she talked to me that it has no good effects on my health, rather, it will cause harmful toxins that will stayed on my lungs. Finally, she enrolled me to the addiction program in our community, I overcome my addiction in smoking. Accordingly, I think I could have not stopped smoking without telling my mom the truth.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that always telling the truth has advantage in dealing with relationships. This is because being truthful will earn trust and respect in people, and you will feel good about yourself.