TPO 03: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Good friends are the most valuable possessions in our life since they can lift us and help us grow. When it comes to friendship, a typical question is whether to keep old friends or make new ones. I subscribe to the view that making new friends outweighs in benefits.

The first and most important reason is that new friends will always help us expand our social circle. Besides, It could also open up doors of new opportunities that will help us realize our potentials and reach our dreams. Moreover, research has shown that people with a greater social circle would normally have higher salaries. My personal experience also confirms that. For example, When I entered the Sharif University of Technology, I met numerous people. I spent a tremendous amount of time with few of them. After getting my master's degree, one of them helped me apply to one of the top rank universities in Computer Science (Standford University).

Second, some radical changes make us change our friends. As people get older and older, it becomes more probable that their interests and habits change entirely. While it is often a good sign, our relationship with old friends might diminish over the long run. For instance, when I was studying in high school, I had a few religious friends with whom I went to the mosque. After entering university, as my beliefs changed, I didn't want to accompany them to the mosque. Instead, I get acquainted with a whole new era of places I could go with my new friends. I feel in this way the nature has separated us.

In summary, while it is immensely valuable to keep old friends, I think It is more profitable if we make new ones. It is because changing friends will open up lots of job opportunities that help us succeed in life. Also, from time to time, Mother Nature makes us change to new friends.