TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When asked about whether it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends, the overwhelming majority would support that the friendship with old friends would be more stable than that of new friends. However, others take the opposite attitude and assume that new friends could lead to new information and refreshment. In my opinion, keeping old friends are of the same importance to making the new ones. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, old friends are more understanding as the consequence of knowing you much longer. When we encounter some obstacles, it is the old friend that we first come up with and want to confide to. They always remind us not to forget our initial goal as well as help us find ourselves again when we are lost. For example, I got addicted to playing computer games and made a lot of new friends on the internet when I was a freshman, which result in a C on my transcript. I cried in front of my best friend since elementary school. She said that I belong to the type of people that easily lost themselves when they entered a new environment. She asked me to cheer up and always keep my goals in mind. Her words encouraged me to move on. Old friends could give us more useful suggestions because they know us better.

Moreover, new friends may come in handy when there are some emergencies. People is prone to make new friends when they are in a new environment because the distance keep their old friends away. When emergency happens, it is impossible for old friends to come and help you in such a short time. Our new friends are whom we can count on under that circumstance. After my cousin got hit by a car, his friends in his new company offers a lot of help. Without their help, I doubt that he would have recovered as well as he did. New friends would give us a hand when it is necessary.

Last but not least, old friends could remind us the good memory we had before while new friends could bring us access to the new information. In high school reunion, people always recall the most impressive memory that they had back at that time. New friends could bring us to a new restaurant where we haven’t been before. We cannot always live in the past, thus we need new friends. However, old friends who can recall the good memory with you is essential, too.

To sum up, both old friends and new friends are important to us. We should develop all kinds of friendships to assure that we can get help whenever we are in trouble.