TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Personal enjoyment is crucial for people lives and health. It is the only way to help people to reduce stress, enjoy life. Although some people, if asked, would say that people today have limited or no time at all for personal enjoyment, I think that due to technology advancement people, nowaday's, have more time to enjoy their time. The basis for my views is because the advance in computer and machines.

There is no doubt that computers are the best innovations in humankind history last decades. Computers give us easy access to the digital era. With the help of computer, people can save tremendous time for other activities. For example, students can utilize computer to search for subject, study, or shop online. Without computers students could spend more time searching for books at the library or shopping at shopping mall.

In addition, transportation developing significantly reduce commuting time. In the past, people use to use animals as a sole way of transportation. People used to spend days or monthes to travel from one point to another. However, with engine machine discovery, cars, trains and airplane are far way faster and convenient. As a result, people have spare time to spend on their personal enjoyment. For example, because my vacation time is limited, I can use airplane to travel to Cuba to enjoy the beach with my family. If airplanes were not invented, I would not able to enjoy my personal time.

Admittedly, People in the past were also had some personal time. Life in the past was not fast and stressful as it is today. Even though that they did not suffer from mental stress as we are in today's life, the lack of the technology add more physical stress on their bodies. For instance, they used their hand to plant and cultivate crops. Thus, this required time and physical effort. However, machines replace human with those tasks. People can use machines to colloect crops in faster and effective way than it used to be before. Therefore, they have more time to enjoy their time.

As a conclusion, we can safely say that with continuous development in technology represented in computer and machines, people will have more time to enjoy their time more than ever. therefore, I agree that people nowaday's spending more time on their personal enjoyment that those in the past.