TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The rapid development of society makes people accessible to various kinds of high-tech products. People have been increasingly relied on them and become addictive to them. It is not hard to see a group of people gluing their eyes on their smart phones in public. With less self-control, children are more vulnerable to the temptation of the virtual world created by the technology, which gradually made them less creative.

It is undeniable that technology has brought us extensive convenience. However, most children are likely to be interested in nothing but the games. Like over watching TV, spending too much time playing games will inhibit the children’s mental development. In the past, children used to figure out ways of having fun on their own. They let their imagination go wild during the process. Children nowadays plunge themselves into the program originated by others. Their minds are becoming stagnant as their bodies are seemingly petrified in front the electronic devices.

Some people may claim that the technology helps children broaden their horizon by making wide a variety of resource accessible to them. It is, nevertheless, the gigantic amount of information that does only cause distraction but also damages children’s independent thinking. School children ,for example, are easily able to search the answers to their homework on the Internet. A result of an experiment or research may also be well available with a clicking of the mouse, which largely spares their effort to think and to operate on their own. The consequence is that children’s learning ability and creativity would decrease due to loss of practice.

In addition, technology reduces the interaction between children with family as well as their friends, which paralyzed their networking. It goes without saying that ideas would rather come from communication than isolation. Children who are enslaved by the technology refuse to come back to the reality. My brother is a case in point. Whenever he loses in the game, he tends to be very ferocious, making himself difficult to get along with. Indulgence in the technology actually leads him to be a dull boy instead of a creative one.

In spite of the innovation and evolvement technology have accomplished in the history, it is still a double edge sword whose negative impact on children will never be emphasized. Technology can serve as a facilitator for children’s creation only when it is properly used.