TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During academic studies people enroll at courses that present a broad variety of topics, this is important because specialized knowledge are built from many different pieces of small knowledge and, therefore, with broad knowledge it is possible to create new products, technologies and methods.

After graduating, students start their professional lives and the job market requires them specialized knowledge and some very specific skills in order to be able to perform certain tasks required for the job. Although in almost all cases colleges or schools don't teach specialized skills and it forces people to seek specific skills. So, this skills need to be acquired by studding them and taking classes or other courses or simply by exercising them every day, as they say, practice makes perfect.

For example a person who knows how to change car's tire and how to clean a car's engine or how to change some parts of a car engine, can perform this many simple tasks, but it can not know how to build a new car engine that is more economic, because it may not know how the car burns the fuel or if the fuel could be changed for an alternative one. So, a specialize professional like a mechanical engineer or a fuel engineer that have studied most of its life about new fuels could create new improved cars that can spent less fuel and have more power.

In conclusion I think both kinds of knowledge are important because, with broad knowledge you can contribute to a variety of things, but there is no special people that can retain all knowledge in the world so there is some people that specialize specific knowledge so they can act in such areas because they are the best on what they do. And so companies can benefit from both kind of professional.