TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Ability of properly managing financial matters is among the most important features that highly affects anyone during his life. Some people believe that it is better for the children to start handling their own money at an early age. I am totally in favor of this opinion due to the importance of financial matters and their effects on forming the child’s personality.

First and foremost, handling financial matters would make the child appreciate value of the money. In fact, if a child has no worries about how the daily things are bought and provided, he will never learn how to gain and spend his own money. Indeed, the unlimited access to a financial support might result to raising a spoiled or naïve child. It goes without saying that lacking the ability of handling money would make it difficult for a person to achieve his independent personality. For instance, I can mention one of my friend’s experience. He grew up in an affluent family with no restriction on spending money. As a consequence, he experienced lots of hardship during his early 20s as he lacked the ability of economical thinking. As a matter of fact he went through hard times adapting to complex situation in the real life.

Furthermore, childhood is the best time for developing various important characteristics, as well as ability to manage financial matters. Without doubt, learning to be disciplined is a feature that remains with a person during his life. Certainly, a little pressure in the early ages would facilitate the rest of his life and result in earning some precious lessons. Moreover, it is noteworthy that in the childhood the consequences of making mistakes is limited. Hence, it is proper to learn these important lessons during early life rather than being a grown up and yet not be able to decide well on solving financial problems.

On the whole, according to above mentioned reasons and examples, it is crystal clear that learning the management of financial matters in childhood will make a person responsible later in his life, and also the side effects of making wrong decisions in early ages is limited, as compared to serious situations an adult may encounter.