TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that nowadays information plays a prominent role in all societies. Information affects people’s lives in many different ways. People could reach information through various news outlets. Some people may hold the view that a person must get information from many different news resources to be well-informed. However, some others may take an opposite view and believe that it is better to get information from only one news resource. From my vantage point, the former belief is more effectives. In what follows, I will elaborate on my idea through three reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that there are numerous events that happen around the world and one news resource never could cover all of them. In all countries many news outlets which have been published news of widespread fields in sport, art, economic, politics, etc. also, there are many channels like BBC, CNN, FOX news that report global and local news. To illustrate the variety of news outlets mentioned the statistical studies were conducted in our country and demonstrate the number of news resources in 2017 has increased growing by 35%. Each of the resource could report different news from other ones. Therefore, following several news resources helps to be aware of different types of news from various regions.

Another equally significant reason is that many of the news resources have deep connection to powerful politicians and government. Therefore, never should trust in one resource. One the other hand, different resources may report news from different viewpoints. Following several resources is more useful for two reason. First, let you the opportunity to analyze a matter from different aspects and second, let you to be aware of some news that don’t report by other resources. to illustrate, I would like to mention the results of a study that conducted in University of Illinois that reveals that people who use diverse resources to follow world news have higher EI (Emotional intelligence) than others who follow one or none resource.

All the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that get information from variety number of resources is more helpful to be well-informed than following just one resource. I highly suggested that following several online news sites inside television, radio and newspapers.