TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As we all know life is quite unpredictable, everyone in his/her life has to take risks willingly or unwillingly. But is it is wise to take risks in life willfully in order to achieve success or is it better to avoid it and continue doing the same thing that one knows very well? Well some people think that it is better to avoid taking risks in life as much as possible because there is no guaranty of success. However, in my opinion, it is wise to take calculative risks some times in life to grow

and to reach t great heights. I believe this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, there is no rule to attain success. Although, this point seems to be a bit complex initially so I will elaborate this point. We all will have to concur that in schools whatever we learn is of no use later in life as we need practical knowledge to achieve desired results and that knowledge we don’t from anywhere except from “Experience”. Now, this experience is gained over a period of time by experimenting and by trying new different thing for example when I was in college I took biology as my major thinking that it is a demanding field, so, I will get success in it. However, later I realized that I am not interested in it, In fact I was inclined towards Math and so I took risks and changed my major subject to math. This incidence taught me that it is not always necessary to follow the rule book designed by the society but it essential to find out one’s own interest to get success.

Moreover, if one will continue doing the same thing that one thinks one knows or likes but indeed one doesn’t then there might be a chance that we will fail in that particular thing as well. As I have mentioned before that sometimes we feel that we like something or we are compelled to believe that one will definitely be successful in a particular field or thing because it is more demanding and it is safe option to choose. So, one will end up doing it but if one is not interested in it or does not enough knowledge of it then it will not be a discern thing to pursue it anyway. I have told this by giving example of myself before as well, I had taken science just because my parents and friends told me to do so. Though, it is true that it is a great field and many of my friend are doing very well in it but I was not able to comprehend it and if I would have continued with it then it was in evident to fail in it. That is why, I rather took risks and today I feel that my decision was correct.