TPO 25 Independent Writing Task

By and large, nowadays, the youth have been playing an integral in societies. So cardinal is their role that all governments is investing a substantial amount of money to educate them efficaciously. It is through having a decent young force that a country could have a satisfactory economic condition. In this case, some controversy arises as to whether or not communities are important for young people. there are many people who hold the view that the young ones do not dedicate sufficient time to their communities. I personally accede to this idea. In what follows, I will delve into two reasons to substantiate my response.

One reason which is worthy to mention is that they are busy with other activities. Thanks to the emergence of new types of entertainment such as video games, young people do not have enough time to help their community owning to the fact that these entertainments usually force them to remain in their house, and therefore, they do not have sufficient time to go out and help their communities. The emergence of social media such as Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook also deteriorate this situation because young people spend an immense amount of their time on these social media. The more amount of time they spend on these activities, the fewer opportunities they have to help others. A recently conducted research, which was carried out by Berlin university, illustrates that more than 40 percent of teenagers spend more than four hours a day on playing online games or wasting their time on social media. This research explicitly shows that these new activities occupy too much of their time.

Another reason which deserves some attention is that there are limited opportunities whereby they can become successful. Inasmuch in modern societies, there is only limited opportunities, young people see other ones as rivals. Consequently, they are not eager (they do not have any propensity) to help one another. Regarding this case, some of them are afraid that by helping, they can provide a situation in which other people will become successful rather than themselves. Take an example of a graduate student into consideration. Having finished his university, He is in pursuit of work. Since there are only limited available work positions, rarely can he convince himself to help other ones to find a satisfactory job. Furthermore, due to the lack of experience, he has lower chances of finding a job than adults whose experience are much higher. Were there more available jobs, they would help other people to find a proper job.

In summary, having gone through the abovementioned in-depth discussions and examples, it is justifiable to conclude that nowadays, young people are not interested in helping their communities. This is because not only are they busy with other activities but also they also have access to the limited number of opportunities.