TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The ways to encourage school-age children to get high grades in school has always been a controversial issue among parents. Although many education experts argue if it is a general truth that rewarding students with money is a great way to make them try their best, I strongly believe that this method has strong defects. Among countless reasons which can vindicate my viewpoint, I will pinpoint the three most conspicuous ones through following paragraphs.

The first point that juts out of the mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this subject is the fact that, this method will make children conditional and they will expect a reward for every duty they complete. In other words, a child who is getting money from his parents will be conditional in his mind so he will demand money for doing any of his chores. An example can illustrate this claim. Consider that a child who is rewarding by money to get high marks, why he should not demand money for brushing his tooth every night?

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that this approach will make the students to forget the main aim of getting good grades. The actual reward of being prosperous in school is gaining knowledge, not money. A noteworthy psychological statistics which was gathered from about five hundred adolescent people in Iran states that students who were rewarded by money in school years are four times less patient to have a career in science than those who were learned to try to gain knowledge just for being more lettered.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. Consider a situation in which the economical conditions of a family have changed during school years of a child and they can not afford to offer money to their child anymore. In this situation, the child does not have any motivation to do good with his grades and he will be disappointed. This indicates that encouraging methods which are dependent on a constant situation such as giving examples of prosperous people who graduate by high grades are better than offering money.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are many reasons and examples which can be persuasive enough to agree that offering money to school-age children can cause serious problems to them in their future life. Some of them are mentioned above such as; being conditional and having the wrong motivation to earn knowledge. But that was a story in a nutshell. Obviously, there are many other examples and details, challenging the claim, which are not debated here. All in all, parents should consider all destructive and constructive aspects of this approach to decide if it works with their child or not.