TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The respect which teachers deserve has always been a controversial issue among sociologists. Although some sociologists argue as if it is a general truth that teachers are acclaimed by society nowadays more than past, I strongly believe that teachers are not well valued by society in recent years. Among countless reasons which can vindicate my viewpoint, I will pinpoint the three most conspicuous ones through following paragraphs.

The first point that juts out of the mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this subject is the fact that, teachers were older in the past than contemporary teachers. In the past years being a teacher would need much more years of study than these days, so teachers in the past were older than nowadays. In spite of traditions, societies respect to old people more than young people. Consequently, young teachers of these days get less attention from the society.

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that students are more informed because of technology in the past few decades. In recent years everybody can get much information by searching on the internet, but in the past, the teachers were the only sources of this information. As a result, by decreasing need to teachers information by students, overall respect to them declines. Furthermore, students are less dependent on teacher's information.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. To illustrate, I would like to mention the available statistics about this issue. A noteworthy statistics which was held in Iran shows that number of teachers has been increased surprisingly in recent years. Therefore, being a teacher is not a special issue like past years. This indicates that teachers have lost their importance among high valued jobs.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are many reasons and examples which can be persuasive enough to agree that teachers are less valued and respected nowadays than they were in the past. Some of them are mentioned above such as; a decrease in teacher age average and an increase in the number of teachers. But that was a story in a nutshell. Obviously, there are many other examples and details, challenging the claim, which are not debated here. All in all, I think teachers deserve more respect by society because they are principles of a prosperous society.