TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, people have been concerned about their jobs and occupations. By the advent of technology, owing to the fact that jobs have gotten more complex, this concern have culminated. The debates came to consider the satisfaction of the jobs as an important factor. In this regard, there is a prevailing controversy amongst people that workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long. Personally speaking, I am not in favor of this remark. I assert my viewpoint for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first aspect to be mentioned is by concentrating on only one task and doing it over and over, a worker is able to become master in that specific task hence, that task will become an easy one for him. To be more clear, one is more satisfied with an easy and not challenging task than with a complex challenging task. On the other hand, doing many different tasks requires more effort and can be more difficult due to the point that they are new to the workers. To put this in a more vivid picture, take a worker in a mine as an example, if he was given a unique task of digging the ground every day, after a while, he finds this task easy and satisfying. On the other hand, if he has to do different things he becomes confused and cannot accomplish his duties.

Apart from the point discussed above, let me asset this debate from the standpoint of mental effects. While a person who has a unique task to do is more relaxed, the worker with different tasks to do is confused and does not feel he is able to accomplish his duties. In other words, doing so many tasks in on day makes the workers feel less satisfied than doing a unique task over and over in one day. To convey my notion, take a scientific fact as a reason, scientists have illustrated that it is easier for people to be engaged with a unique task during a specific period of time. They point out the facet of the comfort zone and defines it as the tendency that people have to stay in a fix situation. This fact strongly indicates the fact that doing a similar task over and over again in one they are more be liked by the workers. In contrast, doing so many tasks in one day requires to come out of the comfort zone which is not easy and wanted by most people.

All in all, according to the aforementioned points and examples, I cling to the opinion that doing similar tasks has more satisfaction for workers than doing different tasks in one day. However, there are opposing viewpoints that it is more satisfying for workers to do different tasks in a day. They declare their idea by the fact that diversity always makes tasks more interesting but from the standpoint of scientific facts and experience, I am willing to conclude that doing similar tasks is more likely to be considered as a satisfaction by workers than doing different types of tasks in one workday.