tpo-43

From a general standpoint, no one can cast doubt on the fact that there always is a chance to making mistakes by teachers or lecturers since they should present a plentitude of things in a relatively short time. With this in mind, it is not surprising to notice that like all prominent issues, its facets is subject to discussion and debate. For example, how should we react when we are finding something said by our teacher wrong has been a subject of controversy. There are many alternatives ideas in this regard, 3 of which are interrupting and correcting the mistake, waiting until the class is over and then talk to the teacher and saying nothing. I personally believe the first idea sounds better. In what follows, the rationale for this opinion will be elaborated by focusing on 2 reasons.

One reason worth mentioning here at first is that correcting the mistake right away help other students to understand and learn the correct concept. Should we wait until the end of the meeting or do not say at all, other participants in that meeting will learn an incorrect matter; thus, we are responsible too since we are ones who detect the mistake. My friend's experience may shed light on my point of view. Last year he was attending in an optional class about literature that he already had a brief knowledge about it. In one class the teacher said the name of a particular author wrongly. My friend found that he made a mistake and corrected him right away. When the teacher noticed what a mistake he made apologized and repeated the correct name to become ensure that all the students understood the right name.

The second reason that occurs to my mind is that it is possible that we are ones who make mistake and think the meeting leader says something wrong. In such a case, stating our opinion right away and expressing the idea that something teacher has just said may be wrong can help us to learn the topic correctly. For example, last semester in the chemistry class I thought my teacher had mentioned the wrong element based on his description of its properties. When I express my opinion and he answered me, I found that I completely misunderstood the topic. If I had wanted to wait until the class was over, I would not have understood other successive topics effectively.

In conclusion, it is more judicious to say that interrupting and correcting the teacher's mistake right away sounds better not only does this approach help other students learn correct thins but it also helps us to become sure about the authenticity of our knowledge.